First Thoughts – Dragon Ball Super

dragon-ball-super

Now, I haven’t got to my opinion thoroughly on what I thought about Dragon Ball GT or Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Gods yet. Here’s my quick and overall opinion about the two: one sucked, and the other didn’t. I’ll give you three guesses as to which ones I’m talking about. In all seriousness, Dragon Ball GT was really the second worst thing that has ever happened to  the franchise. Dragon Ball Evolution is still king of the garbage hill. Battle of Gods, on the other hand, was a breath of fresh air for every single fan who saw evolution out of curiosity’s sake (let’s face it, none of us thought it was going to be good, even before it ever came out). It’s good. Not as fantastic as everybody made it out to be, but that’s just me.

Anyway, Dragon Ball Super starts off two years after the defeat of Majin Buu, and it retcons GT. So far, it has done a great job for doing that. The other thing that it has done in the span of three episodes is recreating the plot and story of Battle of Gods. I don’t know why, but this show is retelling the recent movie, and try telling it in a different way. I’m just going to say it, that I’m not a fan of this idea. To me, I thought they were going to start this show right after Resurrection of F, because I thought that would be the best idea to do, instead of retelling it in a different direction. That would have been a much better idea, to my opinion. That, and the last movie was told so well that I find the first few episodes kind of pointless.

Don’t get me wrong, I am enjoying what I’m seeing so far. It’s more of the same spirit of the Dragon Ball that I know and love. It has the characters going through the same shenanigans that we enjoy watching., plus, we do get to see more of lord Beerus and what would have done if he was sleeping this whole time. Not only that, but I am really looking forward to watching the rest and seeing what this show will offer me.

Leave a Reply

